A healthy alternative to cheesesteaks

IMG_1182

Hello all! It’s been a while. Things have been busy, especially since… I got a new job!

It happened pretty suddenly, after I applied one day to a great job for a local school district. I didn’t think I really had a shot, but imagine my surprise when a few weeks later I got a call asking me when I could start! I’m so excited for the new opportunities and adventures, though I’ll miss the traveling that I got to do with the magazine.

Because of all of this excitement, I’m in a “fresh start” mode right now. And part of that is extending to my fitness and diet.

For the past few months, I’ve been working hard to lose weight. I track my calories on Myfitnesspal, signed up and started training for a 10K this fall, and yet, I’ve seen no results. Sure, I run a little faster than before, but I actually managed to gain 2 pounds (and no, I’m not convinced that it’s all muscle mass).

So, I’m taking the opportunity to look at this new job as a new start. Instead of restricting calories (mfp had me at 1,300 a day), I started researching this idea called Eat More 2 Lose Less.

I’m not 100% clear on the science, but it more or less makes sense to me. Your body has a basic rate of calories it burns just to keep you alive. You burn additional calories throughout the day by moving around and stuff. If you eat somewhere in the middle of those 2 numbers, you’re going to lose weight in a healthy manner. Too few calories, and your body gets used to it and doesn’t burn the energy as efficiently as before.

Since I seem to keep losing and gaining the same 3 pounds for the past few months, I’m going to give it a shot. For that reason, I’m planning on upping my calorie intake until its closer to 1,800. But, I still want to focus on eating healthy (even if I’m eating more of it), which is why I wanted to share this awesome recipe today.

Fun fact: I love cheesesteaks. But, they aren’t necessarily the best things for you. So recently, I decided to sub the steak part for mushrooms. And man, was it a good decision!

The recipe is pretty simple:

  • 1 box button or baby bella mushrooms
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • A few dashes of garlic powder
  • Olive oil for sautéing
  • Cheese of your choice
  • Good, crusty rolls (or wraps would be nice too!)
  • 1 tbsp. of soy sauce

Start off by slicing your onion and caramelizing it in the pan with a good bit of olive oil. Then, take the mushrooms and clean and slice them. Add them to the pan.

As they start cooking down, add in your soy sauce. Feel free to add more than 1 tablespoon, but I found this to be sufficient enough to help add that “meaty” taste to the mushrooms. Add in a few dashes of garlic powder, and let the whole thing sauté until the mushrooms are nice and soft and the water has cooked away.

IMG_1176

Top with sprinkle cheese (I used mozzarella) and shove the mixture into crusty rolls. You could add marinara sauce if you want a traditional steak sandwich, or a little mayo (which is how I prefer them). The mixture was so good, though, that I ended up eating a good bit without any bread. It’s super simple, and a great weeknight meal (meatless Monday, maybe?).

IMG_1179

IMG_1180

I’m (hoping) that this is the first in a series of posts about healthy recipes, fun workouts and other tips I pick up as I continue this journey to health. And if you want to follow me as I train for my 10K and try to get in shape, feel free to check out my brand-new instagram: @kendalgetsfit13

Leave a Reply

