Recipe: Chocolate-Covered Banana Overnight Oats

FullSizeRender

Hello all!
So one of my goals for April is to blog more. I’m trying to hold myself to 2-3 times a week, so if you have any ideas for posts you want to see, let me know.

Today’s post is a short one, but a good one. I’ve been on the hunt for a good breakfast idea. While I was planning on making a frittata for the week, my Sunday became busier than expected and my meal-prep time was cut short. Instead, I decided to make up my own morning bite: Chocolate-covered banana overnight oats.

I love overnight oats. If you aren’t familiar, basically you take dry oatmeal, soak it in some milk (I like almond or cashew) or yogurt, add in a bunch of toppings and voila, you have breakfast.

For this week’s recipe, I used:

  • ½ cup of oats (I buy mine in bulk for pennies at my local grocery store)
  • ½ cup of creamy chocolate cashew milk
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped walnuts
  • 1 banana

Simply mix your oats and milk into your container (I use an old gelato jar) and let them soak overnight (or at least 2 hours, if you forgot the night before). When ready to eat, pop open the lid and add in your toppings — I use walnuts and a banana to get some protein and fruit in the morning. You can also eat them plain, with a little cinnamon on top. I like letting mine warm up to room temperature, but you can also eat straight out of the fridge or microwave, depending on your tastes.

It’s super simple, affordable and tasty. But the best part is that it’s highly customizable, so you won’t get sick of the healthy meal. I bought a large bag of 7-grain oat mix from my grocer, so I’m planning on testing out new flavors as more fruit comes in season. If you have any suggestions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

