All About Meal Prepping

unnamed-3

If you’re in Lancaster, Pa., today, I hope you got outside. It was an uncharacteristically beautiful 77-degree sunny day.

But you know what that also means, right? Summer — and its plethora of shorts, tank tops and bathing suits — is on its way.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited for the warm weather. Summer is always my favorite time of year, and I am so ready to get out of this winter funk. But, let’s just say my diet definitely trends towards warm and comforting foods during the cold months, which isn’t ideal once the layers of sweatpants and puffy coats come off.

So, this week I spent a few hours on Sunday prepping healthy meals for the week. While I usually do some sort of light prepping every week, I’ve been slacking lately. This week, though, I got it all done in a few hours on Sunday which has made the workweek a little easier.

I planned these dinners:

  • Monday: Seared steaks with mushrooms
  • Tuesday: White Chicken Enchilada Casserole
  • Wednesday: Leftovers!
  • Thursday: Night out (my sister is in town!)
  • Friday: Margarita Pizza

Breakfasts were mini eggcups featuring mushrooms and parmesan cheese, while for lunch I had kale Cesear salads (Tom typically gets lunch with work…must be nice).

After deciding on the meals for the week, I started prepping Sunday morning. It took some time, but is greatly minimizing the time I need to spend cooking.

I started with the eggcups. I took 1 package of sliced mushrooms, washed them and then placed them in a large mixing bowl. I then added 6 eggs, a few dashes of Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Mix well and add the mixture to 6 muffin tins that have been HEAVILY sprayed with olive oil. Put in the oven and let them cook for 20-30 minutes.

unnamed

While they were cooking, I took out some frozen chicken breasts, defrosted them in the microwave and added them to my crockpot along with some chicken stock, lime juice and cilantro. I let those babies go for 3 hours on high.

unnamed-1

In between the chicken cooking and starting the enchiladas after it was finished, I prepped my salad for the week by chopping up my kale and washing my mushrooms.

unnamed-2

After a short break, the chicken was done and shredded, I followed Gimme Oven’s recipe for the enchilada casserole. I ended up making a HUGE pan of it, which is absolutely delicious and highly, highly recommended.

And that was pretty much it. Each morning I grab 2 egg cups for work and nuke them in the microwave for a minute. I also grab 2 big handfuls of kale, put it in my Tupperware with some dressing, cheese and croutons so it’s ready to go at lunch.

The biggest help with doing this is dinner. I get home after 7 p.m. usually, and Tom has an unpredictable schedule. Instead of searching around for dinner options (and often ending up with something very unhealthy) it’s been homemade reheat-and-eat options or simple things, like searing a steak and tossing pre-washed mushrooms into a pan with some olive oil. Thursday I’m going out with my sisters, so Tom is left to fend on his own, and Friday night we usually stick to something easy. My favorite frozen margarita pizza from Costco will do the trick.

Overall, I’d happily give up a few hours on a Sunday to make things this simple during the week.

Have a good meal prep plan or some awesome reheat-and-eat recipes? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

