Easy, Delicious Crockpot Chuck Roast

Have you all tried the Mississippi roast recipe yet? I made it a few weeks back, and my, oh my, am I planning on making it again soon. It was so good, I just had to share.

It was so good, in fact, that Tom licked the plate clean. Literally.

Hannah shared the recipe with me after seeing it on TV. I had two smaller frozen chuck roasts in the freezer, and wanted something warm, easy and comforting.

Oh boy, did this come through.

The ingredient list may seem kind of weird at first glance, but it results in a succulent, flavorful roast that falls apart.

To make it, you’ll need:

  • 1 packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix
  • 1 packet of McCormick Aus Jus Mix
  • 5-6 pepperoncini peppers
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 boneless chuck roast, 3-4 pounds

Thaw your roast and place it in your crockpot. Sprinkle the ranch dressing mix and aus jus on top of the roast. Place the peppers around and on top of it. Finally, top the whole thing with a stick of butter. Let it cook on low for 8-10 hours (I did 10).

When it’s done, remove the peppers and shred the beef with 2 forks (or you can use a handy-dandy ground beef chopper to make the task easier). I served mine with homemade garlic-parmesan, oven-baked fries and a side of steamed broccoli.

We (somehow) had leftovers and placed them the next day on Kaiser rolls with Swiss cheese. Bake those puppies for 10 minutes and they are nothing but ooey gooey goodness. Of course, it could also be served more traditionally with mashed potatoes or buttered egg noodles all topped with brown gravy.

It was one of the best things I’ve made so far, and Tom’s asked me about 4 times since then to make it (for reference, this was just 2 weeks ago). Sadly, I don’t have pictures, but since it’s destined to be a go-to in our house, I’m sure I’ll be able to update this post with them soon enough… if it doesn’t disappear too quickly.

 

2 thoughts on “Easy, Delicious Crockpot Chuck Roast

Leave a Reply

