Review: Matrix Total Results So Silver Shampoo

A while ago, I posted about an awesome drugstore purple shampoo. It was cheap, less than $3, and worked relatively well at knocking out the yellow tones in blonde and gray hair.

Fortunately (unfortunately?) I’ve something that’s slightly more high end, but works about 1,000 times better.

Recently, I went on an Ulta run with Zoe. Their big sale on jumbo shampoo and conditioner bottles was going on, and while I used to always stock up during these sales, I’ve recently stayed away, in favor of my drugstore alternatives.

But, I had recently run out of purple shampoo and underwent a highlighting session to punch up my blonde. It looked great for a while, until those all-too-familiar brass tones came back with a vengeance.

So, I started poking around and stumbled on Matrix’s Total Results So Silver Shampoo. And I don’t think I’ll ever go back to my drugstore ways.

This stuff is PURPLE, especially when compared to cheaper options. I don’t mean it just has a touch of color, it’s inky can’t-see-through-it violet that stains the tub if you’re not careful. But that’s what makes it so great. Since it’s so strong, a single use can help knock out some of the worst brass tones.

My hair still isn’t 100% how I want it (I think another highlight session or DIY low-light session may be coming soon..), so I’m always on the lookout for things to help make my hair more ashy. With this shampoo, I use it 3-4 times a week. I work it in really good, let it sit for 3-5 minutes and then rinse well. I always follow up with a good conditioner, since it does seem slightly drying. But boy, when I’m done, the difference before and after is spectacular.

Recently with the move, I had it packed away for roughly 2 weeks. After I used it the other night, it looked like I had just gotten my hair done at the salon. Seriously.

This stuff is no joke. If you’re blonde or silver-haired, and you’re looking for a way to beat the brass, consider buying it (and if you wait until it’s on sale at Ulta, you can get a humungous bottle for just $12.99).

Leave a Reply

