This Week’s Lunch: 20-Minute Chicken Quinoa Stir-Fry

image

Oh no, I missed posting this yesterday! Forgive me.

Like I mentioned in last week’s posting, I’m trying to eat a little healthier this year. A big part of that is planning out my meals for the week on Sunday. This week I wanted something really light, yet warm and comforting since we’re finally experiencing a little bit of winter here. I had limited time on Sunday, so that’s when I came up with a super easy stir-fry that has everything you need: some healthy carbs, protein and veggies. Plus it only takes 20 minutes to whip up a whole batch for the week.

For the stir-fry you need:

  • ¾ cup quinoa
  • 1 pack of frozen sliced peppers and onions (often labeled as stir-fry mix)
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts or 4-5 chicken tenders
  • Creole chicken seasoning (any other, like taco seasoning, would work too!)
  • ½ a jar of salsa

Start with your chicken, and as that cooks, make the rest on the stovetop. For the chicken, start by removing any fat or skin (the “gross stuff,” as I like to call it). If you have extra time, soak it for 15 minutes in a little water and salt to brine it — it really helps to keep your chicken moist in the oven. Dry it off using a paper towel, sprinkle with a little olive oil and then add a coating of creole seasoning, or another one of your choice. Add it to a pan coated with nonstick spray and bake for 20-25 minutes at 425 degrees.

Once your chicken’s in place, in a saucepan combine the quinoa with 1.5 cups of water or broth. Bring to boil and let simmer for 15 minutes before fluffing with a fork. If you want some extra spice, add a shake or two of chili powder to the mix and stir.

At the same time, put your peppers and onions into a fry pan with a little olive oil. You can defrost them first if you’d like, or just cook the water off as the vegetables heat up. Once they get start getting a little bit charred, add in half a jar of salsa, stir for 2 minutes and then remove from heat.

Once your chicken is cooked, cut it up into bite size chunks. Add it to the pot of quinoa and stir in your peppers and onions. I like to then divide it evenly into 4 containers for the week, so I don’t have to get it ready in the morning for work.

That’s it. It’s a pretty easy meal and loaded with protein from the quinoa and the chicken. The veggies have a nice zing to them that’s great in cold weather, and everything tastes as good the next day as the day it’s made.

As for breakfast, I’m keeping it pretty easy this week: 1 egg scrambled with a few spinach leaves and shake of garlic salt, coupled with ½ a cookie dough Larabar. (Have you tried Larabars yet? They’re so good and made completely out of fruit and nuts).

It’s a simple menu, but the easier it is to make, the more likely I am to stick with it. Once I move out, I want to keep the same idea going with meal prep on Sundays, so Tom and I can limit the amount of pizza and frozen junk we eat (plus I’ll have 3 meals to post about then, instead of just 2!).

Do you have a favorite healthy meal? Please share it in the comments! I’m always looking for new options 🙂

 

One thought on “This Week’s Lunch: 20-Minute Chicken Quinoa Stir-Fry

  1. Wow this looks so appetizing! I definitely need to start eating healthier this year as well. Quinoa has so many health benefits that I may just substitute it for rice! Will try this recipe out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

