Face Mask of the Week: Makgeolli Magic

image

After a break, I’m happy to bring back this week’s brief review of another sheet mask in my arsenal. This week was a weird one: the TonyMoly I’m Real Makegeolli Skin Purifying Sheet Mask.

Makgeolli is a lightly sweet Korean rice wine. It’s apparently chockfull of vitamins and minerals that work wonders on your skin, making it smooth and healthy. In TonyMoly’s sheet mask, it’s added to help clear out congested and blemished skin.

According to Ulta, the mask’s “3-layer pulp sheet is filled with aloe extract and an enriched water-based essence that yields maximum hydration with moisturizing effects for your skin.”

image

My thoughts? It’s much more milky than some of the other sheet masks I’ve tried, but overall was super packed with serum. Actually, it was pretty messy to apply, compared to others I’ve tried.

It had a nice, light scent and the same cooling effect I’ve seen with the other masks. But there was one big difference with this one — it seemed like it actually worked.

While the others always made my skin plump and beautiful for the first hour or 2 after application, the Makgeolli one did seem to help clear some small whiteheads I had. My skin just felt cleaner after using it. I wouldn’t call it a miracle worker, but it’s definitely the best one I’ve tried in my series so far (see my other takes here, here and here).

image

Overall? I’d give it a 3.5/5. It’s probably a great bet if you’re prone to breakouts, but need a mask or treatment that’s portable and easy to travel with. While sheet masks aren’t going to solve your skin problems overnight, this one definitely helps for those times when you face is being slightly temperamental.

Have any suggestions of skincare products I should try out? Share in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

