What’s in the Box? December Glossybox Review

Christmas is just 2 days away! And with the holiday season comes the arrival of an adorable Glossybox that’s perfect for this time of year.

It was another homerun hit for the monthly subscription box, which just a reminder, only costs $21 a month. I mention that simply because this month’s value was incredibly high, since I received four full-size products and one deluxe-size sample.

Let’s take a look at what I got.

image

MTJ Cosmetics High Definition Mascara

This is probably the first time I’ve received full-size mascara in a box, especially one that retails for $21. I’m picky about my mascara, but this one’s plastic wand has a unique S-shape that gives you a great full lash look. I found that it definitely increased volume and length of my lashes, and was a nice deep, inky black.

image

Color Club Nail Lacquer in Feverish

I love, love, love this deep wine color. By now you may know that these dark reds are my go-to all year round, and this one is a perfect shade for most skintones. It also has pretty decent coverage and lasting power — I used 2 coats about a week ago and my nails are still going strong, minus a few signs of wear and tear around the tips.

image

GlossyBox Eyeshadow in GlossyBox Mauve

Another full-size product, although this one was slightly disappointing since it arrived smashed. The mauve color is browner than it is pink or purple once applied, and it has a nice shimmer. Unfortunately, I’ve only gotten to try it out once because the palette was smashed to bits when it arrived. I’m going to try to set it with some rubbing alcohol, which will hopefully make it usable for the holidays.

image

Oro Gold 24K Hand Cream

I typically hate getting lotion in my boxes because I don’t really use it, but I’ve been loving the recent hand creams in the boxes (especially since any drop in temperature makes my hands red and dry). This is my third one in the past few months, and while it’s not my favorite of the bunch (that would go to Crabtree & Evelyn’s in La Source), it’s pretty great. I’ve tried a few products from Oro Gold and absolutely adore the scent they use for their products. I found this to be moisturizing, although it can easily slip into greasy territory if you use too much.

image

ColorPhlex: Leave-In Treatment and Detangler

This was the one sample-size product I received, but you still get a good bit of product out of it. It’s a thick detangling and leave-in conditioner that’s meant to protect your hair color. As I’ve progressively gotten blonder and blonder over the past few months, I loved getting these kinds of treatments in my boxes. This one was the best yet — a light, but delicious, scent and enough moisture to soften my ends without making my hair flat and greasy.

I loved each product (minus the smashed eyeshadow) and especially thought the box’s design was great for the holidays (anyone else repurposing their boxes for gift boxes?). Glossybox consistently wins my love. While I sometimes think about saving the $21 a month, it’s months like these that remind me how great of a deal it can be for those product junkies among us (both the hand cream and mascara individually crossed the $21 threshold).

What did you think of this month’s box? Let me know in the comments! Just a side note, I’ll be taking a few days off for the holidays, but I’ll be back next week!

Leave a Reply

