What’s in the Bag? December Ipsy Review

image

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmassss…

Anybody else shocked that 2015 is nearly over? Though Christmas is a few days away, my monthly subscription bags and boxes (which, to be real, are like getting mini-Christmas gifts every month) have finally come in.

First up: Ipsy. This month the products came in a very festive, if not a little too tiny, red patent leather bag. It’s cute and did manage to fit all of the products sent this month, but I have a feeling its future use will include storing small bobby pins and hair ties only.

So what did I think of the 5 items I received? Let’s just say there were some interesting additions, but I did find a few new fabulous products.

image

Clark Botanicals: Deep Moisture Mask

Let’s start with the most unusual find this month. This moisture “mask” can be smeared on in a thick layer and then rinsed away like a mask or used in small amounts as a moisturizer. I’ve used it a few times as a moisturizer, simply because I can’t wrap my head around the mask idea. It sinks into your skin easily, so I feel like if I plopped on a thick layer it wouldn’t be as much of a mask as it would be suffocating my skin. When just a bit is used, it’s a rich, lovely moisturizer that’ll be good if winter ever does arrive. For those with seriously dry skin, I could see how a mask might make for a good self-pampering session, but I wonder if you can’t just do the same (that is, smear on a shitload and rinse off after 10-20 minutes) with your current moisturizer.

image

Crown Brush: C413 Brow Duo Brush

This is the second month in a row Ipsy sent me a brush, which is great because my collection is seriously lacking. Though I do my brows with a Queen of the Brow cream formula that comes with it’s own mascara-like brush, I’m excited to see how this performs instead. The brush end seems high quality, though the spooly end of it seems a little cheap and delicate.

image

Pacifica: Power of Love Natural Lipstick in Tender Heart

I’ve seen this vegan, cruelty-free brand of makeup before in Target, but this is the first time I’m trying it. For each lipstick purchased, the company sends one to a woman in need. The color is a lovely pink, though I wish it had a touch more brown in it to tone down the bubblegum.

image

But more than anything, I love the staying power of this stuff. I swipe some on in the morning and it easily lasts me until lunch.

image

Formula X: Nail Polish in Revved Up

This is a pretty silver color that’s perfect for the holidays. I painted my toenails with it as soon as I got the bag, and the color is still going strong. I especially like that it is much more opaque than these types of metallic shades typically are. (Plus, it’s a perfect color for New Year’s Eve!)

image

BeFine: Exfoliating Cleanser

This was the BEST find of the bag, if not one of my favorite finds of all time. This brown sugar scrub isn’t like your typical exfoliator. When you first squeeze some out it’s just like any other gritty sugar scrub, with similar texture to St. Ives Apricot. But when you start rubbing it on, it transforms into a super foamy face wash that gets your skin really clean without a harsh exfoliation. I find that sugar scrubs tend to leave residue, while foamy face washes usually don’t offer great exfoliation. It’s the best of both worlds (and smells divine to boot). I will definitely be seeking out a bottle when my sample is finished.

Overall, I was pretty pleased with Ipsy this month. Last month I actually considered cancelling it, but I think I’ll keep it around for a little while longer.

What did you think of this month’s bag? Stay tuned for a Glossybox review coming soon.

Leave a Reply

