Jumping on the Sheet Mask Trend

imageBack when I left for Montana to pick up Tom, I did a little pre-pampering the night before, including using a cell-white brightening sheet mask I had received in one of my first Glossyboxes.

After 20 minutes of sitting with this thin cotton sheet on my face soaked in some magic potion, I took it off and… my skin looked AWESOME. Seriously, it hadn’t looked that good since before high school.

Needless to say, I was hooked.

So, after a little research on the best deals, I found this pack of 11 different “I’m Real” sheet masks from TonyMoly. I’d seen them in Ulta stores before, and at $14 for the pack (instead of $3.00 each), it seemed like a deal. It also is a fun way to try out the variations to see what I like best.

I’ve decided to use them once a week and post a brief review.

This week’s mask: Brightening Tomato.

image

Since my skin’s been in the pits lately, I wanted something that could help lighten up the hyperpigmentation left over from acne and add in some moisture since it’s getting colder.

I was a little weary of the idea of a ‘tomato mask’ at first, but it surprisingly smelled really good. How to use: (carefully) open it up and then unwrap it (carefully) before positioning it on your face (do I need to say it again? Do it carefully. They are delicate and rip easily). Sit for 20-30 minutes, take it off and go to sleep. Technically, you’re not supposed to rinse it off, though I found it slightly tacky after a while and wet my face slightly to make it a little less gross.

The verdict? Again, after I took it off I was impressed with how glow-y my skin looked. It wasn’t as awesome as the cell-white brightening mask, but then again this was like a third of the cost. I was nervous about breakouts, but the next day my face looked clear and like I actually had slept a full 8 hours.

Personally, I’m looking forward to adding one of these a week to my routine, especially the clearing and pore refining one. It seems like it packs a serious power-punch of moisture, and would be particularly great to use before a special occasion.

**3.5 out of 5.**
Pros: Easy to use, affordable, great moisture.
Cons: Temporary effects, very delicate to use.
TL;DR: These sheet masks are perfect for a special occasion or a girls night in. 

 

4 thoughts on “Jumping on the Sheet Mask Trend

  1. […] While the others always made my skin plump and beautiful for the first hour or 2 after application, the Makgeolli one did seem to help clear some small whiteheads I had. My skin just felt cleaner after using it. I wouldn’t call it a miracle worker, but it’s definitely the best one I’ve tried in my series so far (see my other takes here, here and here). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

