Hide and Seek: Finding a new skincare regimen

mario_badescu_logo

As I mentioned in my last post, my skin is sucking lately. I don’t know if it’s a combination of the change of season along with stress, or what, but it’s turned into a blemished, flaking mess.

Last week, I hit my wit’s end with my skin. I was trolling Ulta’s website and stumbled on a huge pre-Black Friday sale. All Mario Badescu products were 20% off — which is pretty much unheard of. You usually can’t even use a coupon on the stuff (don’t you just hate that?).

I was using Mario’s Glycolic Foaming Cleanser in the morning and a Clean and Clear Detoxifying cleanser at night. I followed up both with Pixi’s Glow Tonic and whatever moisturizer I happened to get that month in Glossybox. This routine kept my skin manageable, but far from clear or smooth. In fact, the only time recently I had decent skin was when I was on my road trip last month — where I was eating fast food nearly every day, but using the glycolic foaming wash 2 times a day.

Fed up with the breakouts at the age of 24, and realizing that this fancy face wash might have kept my skin clear when it should have been in major breakout mode from buckets of Taco Bell, I decided ‘what the hell’ and ordered a whole new haul of Mario Badescu products.

I’ve always loved the brand. It sticks to relatively simple formulas that seem to work well at an above-drugstore but under-$50-a-bottle price point.

Since everything was on sale, I got a whole new routine for about $50: botanical facial gel, drying cream, glycolic foaming cleanser and special cleansing lotion C. (Note: I know I’m missing a moisturizer to complete this routine, but I have so many right now from subscription boxes that I genuinely like, so I didn’t think it was worth the extra cash at the time.)

Here are some first impressions (and I’ll issue an update if they work!).

facial gel

Botanical Facial Gel: Originally my plan was just to load up on the glycolic foaming cleanser, since that’s been the only face wash I’ve tried from the brand. But after taking a skin profile test on the Mario’s website, this one was recommended. It’s a non-foaming cleanser made for oily skin. I saw a lot of people saying it sucks for removing makeup, so I’ve decided to make it my morning wash. It has a pleasant scent, features grapefruit extract for brightening and, despite missing my suds, left my skin feeling clean and refreshed after the few times I’ve used it. So far, so good.

glycolic clenser

Glycolic Foaming Cleanser: This has been one of my favorites ever since I accidently got the wrong bottle on an order from Amazon and kept it. It foams up really nicely and leaves my skin pretty clear. I love that it lasts forever too. One note though: I noticed my skin was clearest using it 2X a day, but the bottle says you should only use it 3-4 times a week, as it can be too much exfoliation for most skin types. My skin freaking loves acids, so I like it as a daily thing.

drying cream

Drying Cream: I had received a sample of this a while back, but decided to add some to my cart on a whim to treat my breakouts. It features some natural ingredients, like aloe and sulfur, so it’s a smelly but effective formula for shrinking pimples. I like that it also has a concealing aspect, so you can wear it under your makeup.

cleansing lotion

Special Cleansing Lotion C: This is another product that I bought based off the skin profile I received on Mario Badescu’s website. It features sulfur and is supposed to be a hardcore toner for acne-prone skin. I don’t love that it has alcohol in it, but I’ve been using a little sample  before I received my big bottle and saw that it seemed to really help keep my skin clear.

So far, I like everything and my skin seems to be reacting positively to it… but we’ll see how it compares in 2 or 3 weeks after daily use. Fingers crossed!

2 thoughts on “Hide and Seek: Finding a new skincare regimen

Leave a Reply

