This Week’s Lunch: Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad

unnamed

If you’ve been following, you’ll see that I try to post my healthy lunch pick every week.

I’ve always been a proponent of packed lunches for work. It’s a win-win: A way to slim down while saving dough.

This week, I made an amazing shaved brussel sprout salad. Yes, those same little devils you hated as a kid are the star in this protein-packed lunch.

The veggie gets a makeover in this salad, as they’re served raw and sliced thin alongside dried cranberries, quinoa and roasted nuts. I was a little nervous about eating raw brussel sprouts, but found them to taste like mini green cabbages.

I pretty much followed the recipe (which you can find here), but with a few tweaks. Instead of plain pecans I used honey-roasted ones that you can find in the salad topping aisle. I also added about a teaspoon of minced garlic to the dressing (because everything’s better with a little garlic).

I made a big batch ahead of time, leaving the dressing on the side. Each morning I add it in my little lunchbox, shake it up and by the time lunch rolls around, it’s perfect.

Do you have any healthy lunch suggestions? Tell me in the comments! 

 

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Lunch: Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad

Leave a Reply

