What’s in the Box: November Glossybox

image

Is anybody else in shock because it’s already November? I feel like it was just yesterday when I was sitting out by the pool and the daylight lingered for what seemed like forever.

Now, it’s pitch black as I drive home at 6 p.m. Sigh. At least there’s a new Glossybox to look forward to.

I love this subscription, but I do have to say that it has such a chaotic shipping schedule. I JUST got my October box, and my November one was on my doorstep earlier this week. I’m not complaining, but I hope that December arrives early too. Otherwise it seems like such a long wait between my boxes of goodies.

In a nutshell, I was surprised, but happy, with this month’s box. Its full of new products that seem geared towards the cold, dry winter months. And a few of the products were things I never would have tried, yet I ended up loving.

 image

Crabtree & Evelyn La Source Ultra-Moisturizing Hand Therapy (deluxe sample, ~$9)

I hate lotions most of the time. I find them greasy and annoying. But in the winter, my hands start to dry out and crack. While I’ve been harboring the same bottle of plain-Jane Jerkins on my desk to fight back against my lizard hands, this stuff sent it packing.

For a hand cream, this is super light, yet very moisturizing. I like that it sinks in right away and has a nice, clean scent. Plus, the bottle looks much prettier on my desk than the half-squeezed Jerkins that I’ve had for more than a year.

image

Beauty For Real D-Fine Perfect Lip Pencil (full size, ~$14)

This was the biggest surprise in the box. At first, I thought it was another black eyeliner, but then I saw it was lip liner. Hell, I don’t even use lipstick and now I have a lip liner? My mom even said ‘gross’ when she saw what it was.

But I’m here today to tell you I’m a changed woman. I love lip liner.

This universally flattering color is a nude/pink/brown that’s slightly nostalgic of the 90s. While I don’t like it used as a straight lip liner (too tacky for me), when I use it as a mock lipstick, it’s surprisingly really flattering, pretty and makes my blue eyes pop. Plus it stays on forever, which is always my biggest complaint about any lip color. I even could try out that whole Kylie Jenner lips thing (and I love it).

image

image

image

Estee Lauder Revitalizing Supreme Global Anti-Aging Creme (small sample ~$8.50)

I ‘m thrilled when I get anything Estee Lauder in a box. Especially face products. I think that the quality of everything I’ve tried is great, but at $50-$70 a pop, it’s way out of my price range. This stuff sinks into your skin right away and leaves it super soft. And though some are sensitive to fragrances in skin care, I love when I find a product that smells heavenly. I can’t speak to the anti-aging qualities, but I can say it’s one of the nicer moisturizers I’ve tried.

image

Florapy Sweet Dreams Mask – (full size, ~$8)

I haven’t gotten a chance to try this sheet mask yet, but it’ll come in handy the next deadline day when I need to chill out. The mask has several different oils in it and claims to have a relaxing scent meant to help you drift off to sleep or just relax. I recently used a sheet mask for the first time and have been Googling bulk-buys of them since, so this product was a welcomed addition to my box.

 image

Marsk Mineral Eyeshadow in You’re Toast (full size ~$22.50)

This was also a nice surprise. I don’t typically wear a lot of eye shadow, but when I do, it’s always a neutral, shimmery shade. This fits that description perfectly. It’s a gold, highly pigmented color that will look great at holiday get-togethers. I found that when I put it on my eyelid, it stayed put — great for wearing through the day, but it does make it hard to apply. I love mineral makeup and have never heard of Marsk before, so I’m excited to see what else the brand has to offer. (PS. the photo below doesn’t do it justice. In person, it’s a bright gold).

image

Overall, it was another stellar month for Glossybox. Even though when I opened the box I thought I wouldn’t like some of the items, I think I’ll end up using everything. One big reason I sign up for these subscriptions is to be introduced to new products and brands, and I feel like this month I really got my money’s worth.

Did you like this month’s Glossybox? Let me know in the comments! Next week I’ll review my ipsy bag (that is, if it ever arrives…)

3 thoughts on “What’s in the Box: November Glossybox

Leave a Reply

