Chicken Taco Soup and/or White Chicken Chili

image

I’m not quite sure where this easy-peasy crockpot soup recipe falls in the soup vs. chili debate, but I do know one thing. It’s the perfect lunch on these increasingly cold afternoons.

I’m not much of a cook, so by default that means I love the crockpot. And since the office I’m in is kept in a perpetual tundra state, I like having a hot, spicy lunch to look forward to every day.

Plus, after a road trip heavy on fast food, barbecue and beer, I’ve been dying to get back to my healthy diet and exercise routine.

Luckily, this soup manages to fulfill all of those demands. It’s warm, hearty and jam-packed with protein and fiber and takes all of 10 minutes to prep. Plus, it’s pretty damn tasty too.

I present to you, chicken taco soup/white chicken chili.

To make, you’ll need:

  • 4-5 chicken breast tenderloins
  • 2 cans black beans
  • 1 can white beans
  • 1 can Mexicorn
  • ½ packet of low-sodium taco seasoning (or make your own)
  • ½ block of low-fat cream cheese
  • ½ jar of salsa verde
  • Toppings for the soup (tortilla chips, avocado, cheese, etc.)
  • 3-4 cups of chicken broth

Start by cleaning any excess fat off of the chicken and throwing it into the crock-pot. Sprinkle with some salt and pepper.

Then it gets stupidly easy. Open and drain the beans and corn before dumping them in the crockpot. Add ½ the packet of taco seasoning (more or less depending on your taste) and ½ the jar of salsa. (Again, this is up to you. My salsa was super spicy, so I was conservative with it.) Drop half of your block of cream cheese in.

Then, add enough chicken broth to cover the ingredients and set your slow cooker to either high for 3-4 hours or low for 6-8 hours. Once time is up, take a fork and stir the soup, shredding the chicken. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

For me, this makes about 5 1.5-cup servings, one for each day’s lunch at work. I like topping mine with tortilla chips and a little shredded cheese, though sour cream or avocado would be great too.

That’s it! It’s so easy and incredibly customizable. In fact, that’s how this whole thing started. After coming upon variation after variation of white chicken chili recipes, I decided, screw it, I’ll just take what sounds good from each and make my own Frankenstein creation.

And it worked. Who would have thought?

What are some of your favorite cold weather recipes? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

