The UK Comes to the USA: A Review of Pixi Glow Tonic

glowtonic-250ml-22jan15-web_3

This product is one of those that I’ve spent a lot of time researching, debating and tracking down. And two weeks ago at Target, I finally got my product-junkie grubby little hands on it.

Pixi Glow Tonic is an non-alcoholic acid toner that has a cult-like following in the UK. Its main ingredients are aloe, witch hazel and 5% glycolic acid. You swipe it on after washing your face, and it’s gentle enough to use two times a day.

I got a 3.4 oz bottle of it for $15 at Target, though I hear you can get a bigger bottle directly from Pixi for $29. If you follow any UK beauty bloggers, I’m sure you’ve seen this stuff before (it’s been famously featured on skincare guru Caroline Hirons’ blog).

The tonic was finally brought over to the U.S. earlier this year, but it has been a little hard to come by. So when I snuck out on a lunch break earlier this month and saw the stuff, I snagged a bottle. I’ve been using it for about two weeks now, so I thought I’d share my thoughts.

The first thing I noticed about this stuff was it’s pretty pink color and matching rosy scent. As someone who loves anything rose scented, I thought it was lovely. Others more sensitive to fragrance may find it too grandma-y.

Now for the good part: does it actually make any difference at all? I think so, though I’m sad to say it hasn’t completely revolutionized my life. Over time, I’ve realized that I really need acid exfoliation almost every day in order to keep my oily, acne-prone skin clear. I thought the combo of acid, witch hazel and aloe would be liquid gold for my skin. While it did seem to help turn my angry red scars into dark pink ones, and clear up some existing pimples, it hasn’t totally left me with baby-smooth skin. In fact, I got a huge honking zit just the other day, and am still desperately trying to get rid of it before I leave for San Antonio tomorrow (anybody have a good overnight remedy?!).

I’m still going to continue to use the tonic and see if it improves my skin with use, especially since “they” (aka experts with real knowledge on this stuff) say it takes a month to determine if a product is for you or not. If I’m still not head over heels, once the bottle is finished I may switch on over to Mario Badescu’s glycolic toner, since I’m already using the glycolic foaming face wash.
glowtonic-250ml-22jan15-web_3

Pixi’s Glow Tonic
3.5 out of 5
$15 for 3.4 oz. at Target.
Pros: Smells like a garden; gentle; leaves your skin fresh.
Cons: Despite the name, I haven’t seen a glow yet.

On an unrelated note: As mentioned above, I’m headed to San Antonio for a conference this week. If you have any recommendations, let me know! That also means there won’t be any blog posts for a few days. (No worries, though. There will be a Texas-sized post to make up for it when I’m back.) If you can’t wait until then, follow me on Twitter or Instagram (@kendalgapinski) for daily updates!

One thought on “The UK Comes to the USA: A Review of Pixi Glow Tonic

  1. I blogged about this product a couple weeks ago and have been using it quite religiously since then. I definitely noticed a “baby soft”-ness to my skin, and this is coming from someone who gets dry patches pretty much all the time on my cheeks. Also, I agree that it has helped turn my acne scars less “red”, which I’ve been pretty happy about. I think this bottle should last at least a month so hopefully you see better results by then!

    Like

Leave a Reply

