The Best of September.

284ee7128aa7c219abb5cb8f9c149059

I cannot believe it’s already October. Holy cow. Back in May, when Tom left for Montana, October felt like forever and a day away. Now, it’s here and I’m off to San Antonio next week (let me know if there’s a cool place I should check out!). Then I’m headed out to Montana the last few days of the month to road-trip home with Tom: Missoula>>Denver>>Kansas City>>Nashville>>Home. I’m pumped.

But since it’s the start of a brand-new month, I thought I’d recap some of my favorite things from September.

image

Long’s Park Craft Show

At the start of the month, Long’s Park in Lancaster held an insanely cool craft show with artists from all over the world. There were cool pieces of art, beautiful jewelry and lots of wine and beer. Janelle and I strolled around, and while everything was way, way, WAY over our price range, it was still cool to see all of the unique pieces. The show is usually held Labor Day Weekend.

image

Luke Bryan <333333333

I’ve already covered this in an earlier post, but the gorgeousness that is Luke Bryan is worth another mention. A country concert complete with tailgating and flannel shirts galore was a perfect way to end the summer.

image

Fair season

By far, the biggest event in Denver in September is the Denver Fair. Five full nights of fried oreos, farm animals and bingo under the tent are what the people of Denver live for. I went 2 nights, first to play 25 cent bingo and pig out on fair food, and another night to (once again) pig out on fair food. Seriously, there’s nothing like eating a gyro, waffles and ice cream, monkey bread, lemonade and fried vegetables for dinner…. until you have to hit the gym the next day, that is. [Ephrata fair also went down a week or so after the Denver one, but it’s just not as good. Shhhhh!]

icon175x175

Couch-to-5K

I hate running. But I’ve always wanted to become a runner, if that makes sense. Seeing people happily jogging down the sides of the street, decked out in cute leggings and matching shirts with their talk of a “runners high” and how it’s just the best for stress makes me want to to throw on some sneakers and go. But after about a minute, I die. That is, until I downloaded the Couch to 5K app. The app is an 8 week program that eases you into running with intervals. I love that I can play my music and hear a lady tell me every few minutes: *DING* Begin Running. (Of course, it’s even better when she says, *DING* Begin walking.) The app is fun, easy and it works — I ran a full 20 minutes the other day, more than I could do even in high school.

pg-2290_2z

Covergirl Simply Powder Foundation

Now for a beauty product I fell in love with. I used to buy products constantly, but since I’ve started with the monthly beauty boxes, I have cut back. Skincare is the one area where I still am on the lookout for the best, new thing. After running out of my standard powder foundation, Urban Decay’s Naked HD Pressed Powder, I needed something I could get my hands on ASAP without a run to Ulta or Sephora. I stopped at CVS and picked up this Covergirl option for $8 and will never go back to my $40 option. The powder covers really well, as well as the HD one, and seems to last much, much longer. Since I was replacing the Urban Decay brand every month or so, this was a perfect find. I use my Bare Minerals Kubuki Brush to swirl some on after concealer, and it evens out my skin tone. It lasts at least through lunchtime, and the compact is easy to throw in my bag if I know I’m going out after work.

image

Haircut!

Prior to September, I hadn’t cut my hair in a long, long time. With fall finally here, I decided it was time to freshen up my long tresses. A few snips (and inches) later, I have a new shorter ‘do that is so much fun to mess around with.

Overall, September was pretty great. But with San Antonio and a cross-country road trip with Thomas [who has been gone for 5 MONTHS] in the books this month, I have to say, I’m happy October’s finally arrived.

Have a spot I need to check out in San Antonio? Or do you care to share your road-trip top tips? Let me know in the comments! 

— KG

 

Leave a Reply

