Subscription Box Review: Ipsy Glam Bag

image

I have a bit of a subscription box addition. Which is an issue, since I also have an ‘I’m-a-broke-20-something’ problem.

Alas, after being faithful only to Glossybox, I decided this month to add on another subscription box. I went with ipsy.

Ipsy is $10 a month and typically is comprised of makeup, with the occasional hair and skin product tossed in. Typically it includes larger samples and full-size products compared to other boxes like Birchbox, but it offers more drugstore and lower-end brand names. Also, it’s not even a box. It comes in its own makeup bag each month.

Now, I’m going to reveal a little secret I think I discovered. Typically with ipsy, I’ve heard that you have to sign up and get on a longggg wait list. The only way off, supposedly, is to jump through the hoops they set up, like sharing posts on Facebook or Twitter.

But here’s what happened to me. A few weeks ago I was toying with the idea of joining. I went to the website, filled out the beauty profile, entered in my contact info and name, and just before getting to the payment page, I chickened out and closed the webpage before I could commit. But, a few days later I started getting email after email from ipsy reminding me to sign up. A week later, I was told if I signed up right now they would forgo the wait list and send my bag next month. I was sold.

If you’re thinking about joining ipsy, it couldn’t hurt to try it and see if you can skip the waitlist.

The theme this month was glam bag. The makeup bag was a really cute tan clutch, which I plan on using for when I go out (shhhhh, it’s practically the same as a purse).

Here are my thoughts:

image

First Aid Beauty: Ultra Repair Cream

I’m not a huge lotion person. It’s an extra step I usually forget. This stuff, though, is going to be perfect for the winter. My hands get super dry and cracked in the cold, and I usually keep a small bottle of lotion on my desk. It has a thick feeling that really coats your skin and soothes it. I’ve heard good things about First Aid Beauty, so I’m pumped to try something from the brand.

image

NYX Cosmetics: Ipsy Eye Shadow Trio

Specially made for ipsy, I liked this eye shadow as soon as I opened it up. The colors are a great champagne, bronze and deep black. I don’t usually wear eye shadow every day, but this week I started swiping on these colors instead of my standard eyeliner-and-go routine, and I have to say, I like the additional shimmer they add. They have a decent pigment and lasting power, but I wouldn’t go as far as saying they’re going to replace my beloved Urban Decay Naked palette.

image

tre’StiQue: Mini Matte Lip Crayon

Take a close look at the tip. That’s not actually the end of the lipstick — it’s the lid! How cute is that?! As far as the actual lipstick, I got a nudish color. It’s an okay color, but nothing to rant and rave over. It seems to last pretty long though, and I like that it feels more like balm than a lipstick on your lips. I’ll probably keep it in my bag for when I need a little extra something, without the whoa factor of red lipstick.

image

Octavio Molina Hair: Acetate de Argan

I’ve never heard of this brand, but I am SO glad this was included. Thanks to my bleached hair, I have a bit of an addiction to hair oils, and this stuff is some of the best I’ve tried so far. Compared to the usual straw-like texture of my hair, this stuff left it feeling super silky and soft when I applied it after showering. I would definitely consider purchasing this after my sample runs out.

image

Elizabeth Mott: Queen of the Fill Tinted Brow Gel

This stuff came at the perfect time — the day the bag arrived, I ran out of my eyebrow pencil I usually use. This brow gel came in a light medium shade, which seems a touch darker than it should be.  Personally, I like having darker eyebrows with light hair, so it didn’t bother me too much. The brush is nice, but it can deposit WAY too much on the first swipe, so be careful. The gel lasted all day though, and I thought defined my brows nicely.

While I’ve heard mixed reviews about ipsy, I have to say I’m pretty pleased overall. Especially with the inclusion of the brow gel, makeup bag and hair oil, which I really like and would have cost way more than $10 if purchased on their own. I’m looking forward to my next bag to see how it compares!

What did you think of your ipsy bag this month? Let me know in the comments! And stay tuned to see my review of my September Glossybox in my next post! 

2 thoughts on “Subscription Box Review: Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. I received the first 3 items that you got, too! I thought this month’s was alright, but stuff I received in the previous 2 months was way better. Looking forward to October’s 🙂 Hope you have a chance to check out my blog sometime!

    Like

    • I’m looking forward to October’s too! This was the first time I got Ipsy, so I’m interested to see how the bags compare from month to month. I’ll definitely check out your blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

