Glossybox Review: August 2015

image

I’ve always been intrigued by the idea of a subscription box. It’s like a surprise gift every month. A few months ago, after seeing more and more posts on Facebook and on some of the blogs I follow, I decided to sign up for Glossybox.

Glossybox is a $21-a-month box that includes 5 deluxe- and full-size items from top brands. While Birchbox and Ipsy, two other popular boxes, are cheaper, I liked the offerings that came in Glossy, and that it was a mix of hair, skin and makeup products.

So far, I haven’t been disappointed. Every month I’ve loved the items sent to me, and it is so fun coming home to a beautifully packaged pink box filled with goodies. Here’s what I got in August.

image

GlamGlow YouthCleanse Daily Clearing Cleanser Sample (~$8 value) 

When I opened up the box and saw this cleanser, I was super excited. A few months ago, one of my boxes contained a small sample of their famous GlamGlow PowerMud Daily Cleanse Mask, which I’ve fallen in love with (though I can’t say the same for its $70 price tag).

The cleanser is supposed to have a similar feel and results to the mask, but without the long dry time. Personally, I loved that this has the tingly, mud-like consistency of the mask, but it foams when you add water. I thought it left my skin looking really smooth and clean. But at $40 for a full-size tube, it would have make me look like Kim Kardashian before I purchased it for daily use. Still, it’s fun to try such a high-end product, and the sample size should last me a while.

image

Manna Kadar Cosmetics Lash Primer Sample (~$11 value)

Every once and a while, you get an item in a box that is just so weird, but so cool at the same time. This is it for August. My lashes are stick straight and fine, and this primer is designed to be swiped on before mascara to add length and volume, all while conditioning your eyelashes. It comes in a mascara tube and is a gloopy white mixture that dries clear and is reminiscent of Elmer’s Glue.

I used it with my Tarte Better Than Sex mascara I got in my box a few months ago, and I have to say, it did make a difference. I definitely plan on taking advantage of the generous sample and loading up my lashes before I swipe on mascara. Would I repurchase? Maybe a drugstore primer.

image

Lollipops Paris Malicieuse Lip Balm Full Size (~$5 value) 

Lip balm just isn’t exciting. We got lip balm in last month’s box too, so this was kind of like, yawn. The formula is nice, if not a little greasy, and it does smell like a cupcake. So, there’s that. I stash these things everywhere, so I know it’ll get used.

image

SpaRitual Nail Lacquer Full Size (~$12 value)

FINALLY a nail color I like. With Glossybox you fill out a beauty profile, which helps them pick shades of makeup and types of products to send you. Since I tend to stick with a minimal look in makeup, most of the time the nail polishes I get are nudes or clear coats. But, my go-to is a deep, dark red.

Which means this color is perfect. I want to plaster it all over my nails and toes, especially for fall. Plus, the brand is eco-friendly and conscious about the ingredients it uses, unlike a lot of others. Good job, Glossybox.

image

POP Beauty Kajal Pen in Sooty Black Full Size Eyeliner (~$10 value)

Spending an extra $21 a month on a box of beauty samples may seem like a waste of money, but I’ve noticed since starting getting the boxes I actually spend less on products — especially eyeliner and mascara since they seem to be in every box I get. This eyeliner is a deep, matte black that is great for smudging into the lash line. I’ve been using it every day, and I love it. Another great one to add to my (growing) collection.

Overall, Glossybox was a major win this month — though I expect nothing less. I’m excited about all of the products, they all were good sizes, and I know they won’t collect dust on my shelf.

Have a subscription box I should know about? Tell me about it. If you’re interested in signing up for your very own Glossybox, click here

Leave a Reply

