June in Review: A whole bunch of traveling

Shackburger, crinkle fries and a black and white shake. Perfection.

Whew! So I’ve kind of been MIA. For good reason though!  I’ve decided to pack up my weekender bag and hit the road as much as possible this summer.

First up: DC. I hadn’t been back to the city since I graduated college two years ago. My good friend from school, Katie, is working there this summer and living with her sister, Maggie. Since Maggie was still in London finishing up her semester abroad, Le Chateau Katie was open for business the first weekend of June.

Since my sister graduated Friday evening, I decided to drive down Saturday morning, when there’s generally less traffic. I arrived around 11, which may early for lunch for some, but not for Katie and I. Besides, with a limited time back in the district, it was imperative to visit all of my old favorite joints. The first on of those being Shake Shack.

To be honest, most of what we did that weekend was eat. Which was perfect. If there is one thing that makes me miss living in DC, it’s the food. Literally anything you want is a short Metro ride away, which can’t exactly be said for Lancaster.

After a shack burger, some fries and a milkshake (I mean, come on, you need the whole experience),  we meandered around Dupont Circle. Deciding to steer clear of the tourist trap that is the National Mall in the middle of June, we chose to head back up to Friendship Heights for a few mid-day cocktails.

And by the time we got back to Katie’s apartment, it was time for dinner! (I wasn’t kidding when I said I. Ate. All. Weekend.). We ordered Pete’s Pizza (my all-time favorite) while watching (several hours of) Shahs of Sunset and drinking a Katie-concotion of pineapple-infused vodka and some other liquor. I know, I know, try to control your jealousy of our exciting Bravo TV marathon and pizza.

We eventually did manage to move off of the couch to meet up with Jack and Nicole, two of my roommates from senior year, in Adams Morgan. The rest of the night was spent sipping Gin and Tonics (followed by some coffee — those pineapple drinks were strong!) and catching up. It was perfect.

Can't do DC without a good old burger brunch.

Everyone thinks DC is where you need to spend time when you visit the district. Not so, says I. My favorite spot in the city isn’t even in the city at all. It’s Bethesda, Md., which is just a few stops up from American University, where I went to school.

So on Sunday, knowing that parking is free there and they have the best assortment of sidewalk brunching spots, we set out for a spot to eat before setting on American Tap Room.

After a burger and a bellini (the perfect breakfast if you ask me), I headed home.

Leave a Reply

